Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Alma Adams

Representing the 12th District of North Carolina


Adams and Budd Introduce Greensboro Four Resolution

Feb 9, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C.--Representative Alma Adams (NC-12) and Representative Ted Budd (NC-13) released the following statement after the introduction of the bipartisan ‘Greensboro Four Resolution’, which recognizes the significance of the Greensboro Four sit-in.

“As a former Greensboro representative and alumna of NC A&T University, I am pleased to reintroduce the Greensboro Four Resolution to recognize the contributions of these four students to the national civil rights movement,” said Congresswoman Adams. “During Black History month we remember the many people who have come before us to break glass ceilings and fight for equal rights for all. These student’s peaceful actions sparked a national movement that lead to more than 700,000 people participating in sit-ins nationwide. I thank my colleague, Ted Budd, and the other members of the NC Delegation for coming together to honor this vital chapter in our national history.”

“56 years ago, four students from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University sparked a movement across North Carolina that moved our state and country toward a better future,” said Congressman Budd. “The Greensboro Four sit in served as a catalyst for the mobilization of college students in the Civil Rights Movement. This resolution will encourage all states to include in their year-round educational curriculum the history and contributions of the Greensboro Four in North Carolina, and the country as a whole. I am honored to introduce a resolution with Alma Adams that recognizes the significance this historic moment had on North Carolina’s history.”


This resolution honors the six-month long, peaceful, sit-in hosted by Joseph McNeil, Jibreel Khazan (formerly Ezell Blair, Jr.), Franklin McCain, and David Richmond as a historic moment in North Carolina’s history. The following Representatives from the North Carolina delegation have co-sponsored the Greensboro Four Resolution: G.K. Butterfield Jr. (NC-1), George Holding (NC-2), Walter Jones Jr. (NC-3), David Price (NC-4), Virginia Foxx, (NC-5), Mark Walker (NC-6), David Rouzer (NC-7), and Richard Hudson (NC-8) Patrick McHenry (NC-10).