Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Alma Adams

Representing the 12th District of North Carolina


On Anniversary of Brown, Adams Cosponsors Legislation to Invest in Schools, Create Jobs

May 17, 2017
Press Release


WASHINGTON – Today, on the 63rd anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education decision, Congresswoman Alma Adams (NC-12) joined House Democrats in introducing the Rebuild America’s Schools Act of 2017. This legislation highlights the need for bold investment in school infrastructure as a means to achieve greater educational equity, while breathing new life into communities and creating jobs.


The landmark Supreme Court decision in the Brown v. Board of Education case struck down lawful school segregation and affirmed that education was a right that “must be made available to all on equal terms.” In 2014, a Department of Education study estimated that it would cost $197 billion to bring all public schools into good condition. New investments in school infrastructure can help level the playing field for students in under resourced communities and help strengthen local economies. 


“No student should be forced to learn in an unsafe or dilapidated environment,” said Congresswoman Adams. “It’s been proven that poor school conditions impact learning and schools who serve low-income and minority students are disproportionately saddled with outdated and rundown facilities. Since coming to congress, I have been a strong proponent of education, job creation, and investment in infrastructure--this bill does all three. I’m proud to cosponsor this bill because it will invest in our public schools, create nearly 2 million jobs, and enhance opportunities for students nationwide.”


Original lead cosponsors of the Rebuild America’s Schools Act include Reps. Peter DeFazio (OR-04), Ranking Member of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Ranking Member of Committee on Energy and Commerce, Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Ruben Kihuen (NV-04), and Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL). Additional cosponsors include Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (MP-AL), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Dwight Evans (PA-02), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-07), Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24), Terri A. Sewell (AL-07), Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09), Ted Lieu (CA-33), Donald M. Payne Jr. (NJ-10), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Val Butler Demings (FL-10), Filemon Vela (TX-34), Marcia L. Fudge (OH-11), Bobby L. Rush (IL-01), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Cedric L. Richmond (LA-02), Hank Johnson Jr. (GA-04), Mark Pocan (WI-02), John Conyers Jr. (MI-13), Eliot L. Engel (NY-16), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Steve Cohen (TN-09), Brendan F. Boyle (PA-13), Hakeem S. Jeffries (NY-08), Robert A. Brady (PA-01), Wm. Lacy Clay (MO-01), Mark Takano (CA-41), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Donald McEachin (VA-04), Norma J. Torres (CA-35), Richard M. Nolan (MN-08), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), David Loebsack (IA-02), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01), José E. Serrano (NY-15), Ben Ray Luján (NM-03), Gene Green (TX-29), Rosa L. DeLauro (CT-03), and Kathy Castor (FL-14).


The Rebuild America’s Schools Act of 2017


FACT SHEET: The Rebuild America’s Schools Act of 2017


SECTION-BY-SECTION: The Rebuild America’s Schools Act of 2017