Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Alma Adams

Representing the 12th District of North Carolina


Congresswoman Adams Challenges DOJ/ICE Subpoenas of North Carolina Voter Data

Sep 7, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congresswoman Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (NC-12) released the following statement in response to a report of subpoenas issued by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of North Carolina to the North Carolina State Board of Elections requesting all voting records for the 44 counties of the Eastern District from January 1, 2010 to August 30, 2018 and August 30, 2013 to August 30, 2018, respectively.

“It’s not surprising that this subpoena would come only days following a federal court ruling striking down North Carolina’s gerrymandered districts, and 60 days before a national election. This is clearly a coordinated effort by the Trump Administration to intimidate and disenfranchise voters from exercising their fundamental right during one of the most historic election cycles in our nation’s history.

President Trump’s assault on voting rights began before he took the oath of office. Along the campaign trail, he spewed misinformation and false claims of voter fraud. Within his first six months in office, he established the Presidential Advisory Commission on Election Integrity as a vehicle to advance this fake ‘voter fraud’ rhetoric. Now, he’s turned his priorities to outright voter suppression and intimidation.

To the North Carolinians with legitimate concerns about how far this administration will go to suppress your rights, I urge you to show up to the polls to remind them of the true power of democracy. I plan to join my colleagues in Congress to fight this immoral effort to pervert the democratic process. Secretary Nielsen, Attorney General Sessions, and President Trump should instead investigate the real threats facing our country, particularly foreign actors who wage cyber warfare to support this administration’s agenda.”