Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congresswoman Adams Honors Greensboro Four

Mar 4, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. –Congresswoman Alma Adams (NC-12) released the following statement after introducing a resolution last week to honor the contributions of the Greensboro Four, H. Res. 128. The Greensboro Four held a six month sit-in at F.W. Woolworth cafeteria to end segregation.

“Fifty-five years ago four freshmen from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University courageously and peacefully protested segregation by refusing to give up their seats at F.W. Woolworth cafeteria. Joseph Mcneil, Jibreel Khazan (formerly Ezell Blair, Jr.), Franklin McCain, and David Richmond ignited a national revolution that helped bring us all one step closer to equality.

“It is with great humility that I introduce this important resolution to honor the brave acts of these four young men. I am proud to know we share the same alma mater. Without actions like theirs, I would not have the distinct privilege of serving in the U.S. Congress.

“The legacy of the Greensboro Four is felt throughout our country and will be permanent fixture in the Civil Rights Movement and American history.”

The following members joined to cosponsor H. Res. 128:

1.     Representative Joyce Beatty

2.     Representative Xavier Becerra

3.     Representative Donald S. Beyer, Jr.

4.     Representative Sanford Bishop

5.     Representative Robert Brady

6.     Representative Corrine Brown

7.     Representative Julia Brownley

8.     Representative G.K. Butterfield

9.     Representative Michael Capuano

10.  Representative John C. Carney, Jr.

11.  Representative Andre Carson

12.  Representative Yvette Clarke

13.  Representative William Lacy Clay

14.  Representative Emanuel Cleaver

15.  Representative James Clyburn

16.  Representative Steve Cohen

17.  Representative Bonnie Watson Coleman

18.  Representative Gerald Connolly

19.  Representative John Conyers, Jr.

20.  Representative Joe Crowley

21.  Representative Elijah Cummings

22.  Representative Danny K. Davis

23.  Representative Donna Edwards

24.  Representative Keith Ellison

25.  Representative Renee Ellmers

26.  Representative Chaka Fattah

27.  Representative Marcia Fudge

28.  Representative Luis V. Gutierrez

29.  Representative Raul M. Grijalva

30.  Representative Janice Hahn

31.  Representative Alcee Hastings

32.  Representative Richard Hudson

33.  Representative Michael Honda

34.  Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson

35.  Representative Hank Johnson

36.  Representative Marcy Kaptur

37.  Representative Ron Kind

38.  Representative John Larson

39.  Representative Shelia Jackson Lee

40.  Representative John Lewis

41.  Representative Ted Lieu

42.  Representative Carolyn Maloney

43.  Representative Doris Matsui

44.  Representative Betty McCollum

45.  Representative James McGovern

46.  Representative Jerrold Nadler

47.  Representative Donald Norcross

48.  Representative Eleanor Holmes Norton

49.  Representative David Price

50.  Representative Bobby Rush

51.  Representative John P. Sarbanes

52.  Representative Bobby Scott

53.  Representative David Scott  

54.  Representative Adam Smith

55.  Representative Chis Van Hollen

56.  Representative Ron Vargas

57.  Representative Mark Walker

58.  Representative Joe Wilson