Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Alma Adams

Representing the 12th District of North Carolina


Congresswoman Adams Leads the Fight for Local Refugees

Feb 16, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C.—Today, Congresswoman Alma Adams (NC-12) introduced H.Con.Res. 25, Expressing the Sense of Congress on refugee and immigrant admissions to the United States.

“After the recent travel ban, I convened a meeting with leaders from our refugee community,” said Congresswoman Adams. “These leaders shared the concerns and the fears of the more than 800 refugees that live in the 12th District.

“I introduced this resolution to make their concerns heard in Congress.  The President’s travel ban is unconstitutional and strikes at the very essence of our democracy. Congress must step up and make it clear to the world that we will not turn our backs on people desperately seeking refuge and we will reject all attempts to codify discrimination and bigotry. The refugee community, and all in the 12th District, can rest assured that I will continue to make our concerns and our voices heard in Congress.”


This Resolution:

  • Expresses the sense of congress that the President’s Executive Order is not a testament to the United States as a nation that is welcoming to all regardless of race, religion, or country of origin.
  • Insists that the President must immediately allow for the continued entry of refugees that have already been granted admission into the United States by the U.S. Refugee Admissions Program.
  • Emphasizes that the United States should continue to resettle refugees that need protection regardless of their country of origin.
  • Reaffirms that lawful permanent residents be granted entry into the United States regardless of their country of origin.
  • Advocates that the Visa Interview Waiver Program should not be suspended while the Secretary of State conducts a review of all non-immigrant visa reciprocity agreements to ensure that there are no disruptions to communities, institutions of education, and interstate commerce.

The resolution was cosponsored by Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY), Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI), Rep. Yvette Clark (D-NY), Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Rep. James McGovern (D MA), and Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL).