Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Main menu


Rep. Adams Joins Johnson Resolution to Censure Trump

Jan 4, 2021
Press Release
Rep. Johnson’s Resolution Censures and Condemns Trump for Blatantly Attempting to Overturn the Results of the November 2020 Presidential Election in Georgia.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congresswoman Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (NC-12) joined Congressman Hank Johnson’s (GA-04) resolution censuring and condemning President Donald J. Trump for attempting to overturn the results of the November 2020 presidential election in the State of Georgia. They were joined by more than 90 colleagues.

“The President’s actions are beyond the pale, and potentially subject him to criminal prosecution,” said Adams. “I join Rep. Johnson’s resolution in acknowledgement that while censuring the President is certainly appropriate, his continued disrespect for the Constitution and our democratic process validates the House’s decision to impeach him a year ago.”

On Saturday, January 2, 2021, President Trump called Georgia’s Secretary of State and asked him to illegally fabricate the votes needed for him to win the Georgia vote count. On Sunday, January 3, 2021, the entire audio of the call was reported in The Washington Post. The call lasted more than an hour and involved the President threatening Secretary Raffensperger with vague criminal prosecution threats if he didn’t cooperate. Rep. Adams tweeted in responseThe President is on tape attempting to pressure & blackmail an elections official into changing the results of GA’s election. Donald Trump belongs in prison. His actions justify it, the integrity of the Constitution necessitates it, & the sanctity of our Democracy requires it.

Rep. Johnson moved quickly to condemn President Trump's criminal actions and denounce his flagrant attempts to defraud a legal, fair, and free election:

Rep. Johnson tweeted: [the] president’s call to the Ga. SOS was far from “perfect.” In fact, it is a violation of state and federal law. Tomorrow, I will introduce a resolution of Censure. Trump should resign NOW!

The resolution garnered wide democratic support. Reps. Adams and Johnson were joined by Reps.: Auchincloss, Barragan, Bass, Beatty, Beyer, Bishop, Blumenauer, Bonamici, Bourdeaux, Boyle, Bowman, Bush, Butterfield, Carson, Casten, Castor, Castro, Chu, Cicilline, Yvette Clarke, Cohen, Connolly, Cooper, Correa, Courtney, Danny Davis, Dean, DeLauro, Dingell, Doggett, Espaillat, Escobar, Eshoo, Dwight Evans, Foster, Chuy Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Jimmy Gomez, Al Green, Hayes, Brian Higgins, Himes, Huffman, Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Mondaire Jones, Khanna, Kildee, John Larson, Brenda Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Lieu, Lowenthal, Lynch, Matsui, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Newman, Norton, Ocasio-Cortez, Omar, Pallone, Panetta, Pingree, Pocan, Pressley, Raskin, Rush, Scanlon, Schakowsky, David Scott, Sewell, Sherman, Speier, Suozzi, Swalwell, Takano, Mike Thompson, Tlaib, Rice, Norma Torres, Ritchie Torres, Velázquez, Watson Coleman, and Welch.

Text of the resolution is HERE

The resolution also calls on President Trump to retract and disavow this unlawful and unconstitutional behavior and acknowledge President-elect Joseph R. Biden as the victor of the November 2020 presidential election.